Division of Research : Research Faculty

Research Faculty

Cardiothoracic Surgery


Dao M. Nguyen, MD

Dao M. Nguyen, MD

Professor of Surgery and Chief, Thoracic Surgery Section, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Department of Surgery
Member, Thoracic Surgical Oncology, SCCC
Co-Chair, Disease Specific Group (DSG) - Lung - SCCC
The B. and Donald Carlin Endowed Chair for Thoracic Surgical Oncology
dnguyen4@miami.edu

General Surgery


Sharon J. Elliot, PhD

Sharon J. Elliot, PhD

Research Associate Professor
selliot@miami.edu

Oncology


Anthony Capobianco, PhD

Anthony Capobianco, PhD

Professor
Director, Molecular Oncology Research Program,
Division of Surgical Oncology
tcapobianco@miami.edu

Nipun Merchant, MD

Nipun Merchant, MD

Professor of Surgery
Vice Chair of Surgical Oncologic Services
Chief, Division of Surgical Oncology
Chief Surgical Officer - University of Miami Hospitals and Clinics/Sylvester and UMH
Director of Surgical Oncology Research Programs at the SCCC
nxm379@miami.edu

Nagaraj Nagathihalli, PhD

Nagaraj Nagathihalli, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
nnagathihalli@miami.edu

Michael VanSaun, PhD

Michael VanSaun, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
mxv524@miami.edu

Danny Yakoub, MD, PhD

Danny Yakoub, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Surgery
dyakoub@miami.edu

Oncology Molecular Therapeutics


Ravindran Caspa Gokulan, PhD

Ravindran Caspa Gokulan, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
rxc988@miami.edu

Rajinder Dawra, PhD

Rajinder Dawra, PhD

Research Associate Professor
rkd35@miami.edu

Vikas Dudeja, MD

Vikas Dudeja, MD

Assistant Professor of Surgery
vikas.dudeja@miami.edu

Wael El-Rifai, MD, PhD

Wael El-Rifai, MD, PhD

Professor
Associate Director of Program Development
Co-Leader Tumor Biology Program
welrifai@miami.edu

Dunfa Peng, MD, PhD

Dunfa Peng, MD, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
dxp737@miami.edu

Sabita Roy, PhD

Sabita Roy, PhD

Professor and Associate Vice Chair For Career Development
Department of Surgery
Secondary Appointment of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
sabita.roy@miami.edu

Ashok Saluja, PhD

Ashok Saluja, PhD

Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Surgery
Director, Sylvester Pancreatic Cancer Research Institute
Senior Associate Dean for Research Innovation
Associate Director of Research Innovation, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
Secondary Appointment of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
asaluja@miami.edu

Mahendra Singh, PhD

Mahendra Singh, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
mks119@miami.edu

Alexander Zaika, PhD

Alexander Zaika, PhD

Professor, Department of Surgery
axz353@miami.edu

Oral Surgery


Michael Peleg, DMD

Michael Peleg, DMD

Professor of Surgery
mpeleg@miami.edu

Pediatrics Surgery


Juan E. Sola, MD

Juan E. Sola, MD

Chief, Division of Pediatric and Adolescent Surgery
Professor of Surgery
jsola@miami.edu

Plastic Surgery


Christopher J. Salgado, MD

Christopher J. Salgado, MD

Professor of Surgery
Interim Chief, Division of Plastic, Reconstructive, Transgender and Aesthetic Surgery
csalgado2@miami.edu

Trauma, Critical Care & Burns


Carl I. Schulman, MD, MSPH, PhD

Carl I. Schulman, MD, MSPH, PhD

Professor of Clinical Surgery
Director, William Lehman Injury Research Center
Associate Director, Surgical Residency Training Program
cschulman@miami.edu

Vascular Surgery


Zhao-Jun Liu, MD, PhD

Zhao-Jun Liu, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Surgery
zliu@miami.edu

Jorge Rey, MD

Jorge Rey, MD

Associate Professor of Surgery
jrey@miami.edu

Roberta Soares, MD

Roberta Soares, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
r.sooares@miami.edu

Roberto I. Vazquez-Padron, PhD

Roberto I. Vazquez-Padron, PhD

Associate Professor of Surgery
rvazquez@miami.edu

Dr. Omaida C. Velazquez

Omaida C. Velazquez, MD

Chair and Professor of the Department of Surgery
Chief, Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery
Director, Vascular Laboratory, University of Miami Hospital
ovelazquez@miami.edu