News : 2015 : May

From left, Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., Alan Pollack, M.D., Ph.D., Erin Kobetz, Ph.D., M.P.H., Arul M. Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D., Ronald C. Desrosiers, Ph.D., Diana Lopez, Ph.D., Jonathan C. Trent, M.D., Ph.D., Vinata B. Lokeshwar, Ph.D., and Stephen D. Nimer, M.D.

Zubrod Memorial Lecture Program Spotlights Faculty and Young Investigators

Six Miller School of Medicine physician-scientists were recognized for their contributions to cancer research and treatment as part of the Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center’s 16th Annual Zubrod Memorial Lecture and Cancer Research Poster Session on May 15. It was the first time multiple faculty awards have been part of the program.

Read more »

At rear, Per-Olof Berggren, Ph.D., and Midhat H. Abdulreda, Ph.D.

Study Uncovers Detail About Development of Diabetes

A research team led by Professor Per-Olof Berggren, Ph.D., an adjunct Professor and Mary Lou Held Chair at the Diabetes Research Institute at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, has revealed new evidence in mice on a mechanism that contributes to failure and death of the insulin-producing beta cells during development of diabetes. The study is published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Science.

Read more »

Kenneth W. Goodman, Ph.D.

Miller School’s Bioethics Institute Will Confront Broad Range of 21st Century Challenges

The University of Miami Faculty Senate has unanimously and enthusiastically approved the establishment of the Miller School of Medicine Institute for Bioethics and Health Policy. The Senate legislation was signed by President Donna E. Shalala in April.

Read more »

From left;  Alberto Mitrani, M.D., Fred F. Telischi, M.D., Maria T. Abreu, M.D., Eduardo de Marchena, M.D., and Steven Falcone, M.D., M.B.A.

Three UM Medical Alumni Receive Prestigious Distinguished Alumni Award

Honoring clinical excellence, research expertise, and public service among its graduates, the Miller School of Medicine Medical Alumni Association recently bestowed one of its highest honors — the Distinguished Alumni Award — on three outstanding physicians: Maria T. Abreu, M.D., Class of 1990; Eduardo de Marchena, M.D., Class of 1980; and Fred F. Telischi, M.D., Class of 1985.

Read more »