News : 2016 : May

Tomas A. Salerno, M.D.

Dr. Tomás A. Salerno Elected to Third Term as President of Faculty Senate

Tomás A. Salerno, M.D., the DeWitt C. Daughtry Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery and professor of surgery at the Miller School of Medicine, was re-elected chair of the University of Miami Faculty Senate for a third one-year term at the governing body’s April 27 election meeting. Salerno, who joined the Miller School in 1999, has served in the Senate since 2008.

Read more »

From left, Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., Omaida Velazquez, M.D., Danny Sleeman, M.D., Alan Livingstone, M.D., and Duane Hutson, M.D.

Dr. Danny Sleeman Receives the Duane G. Hutson Endowed Chair in Surgical Education

In a ceremony that highlighted several generations of physicians of the DeWitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, the Duane G. Hutson Endowed Chair in Surgical Education was presented to Danny Sleeman, M.D., professor of surgery, Vice Chairman of Surgical Education and Director of the Surgical Education Program.

Read more »

2016 George Paff Teaching Award winners.

Medical Students Present 2016 Paff Teaching Awards to Outstanding Instructors

Warren Kupin, M.D., professor of medicine, was one of 18 outstanding Miller School of Medicine instructors honored by their students at the 2016 George Paff Teaching Awards Ceremony on April 28 at the University of Miami Hospital Seminar Center. Second-year students Shirin Razdan and Matthew Chen co-chaired the ceremony, assisted by Soum Lokeshwar, Sophia Liu and Catherine Lee.

Read more »

Antonio C. Marttos, Jr., M.D.

Brazilian Foundation Names Dr. Antonio C. Marttos, Jr. ‘Person of the Year’

Antonio C. Marttos, Jr., M.D., associate professor of surgery and Director of Global e-Health/Trauma Telemedicine at the William Lehman Injury Research Center, has been named the 2016 recipient of the Person of the Year Award in the 19th Annual Brazilian International Press Awards U.S.A., a recognition program that is part of the Focus Brazil Foundation.

Read more »